Back to Knowledgebase

Google
Setup & Settings

Sharing a Google Calendar

Sharing a Google Calendar

If you want to be able to post events created through DocketCalendar on a Google calendar that belongs to another Google account, it must be shared with your Master Calendar

  1. Log into the Google account whose calendar you want to share.
  2. Open the Google Calendar for that account.
  3. Under the Calendars section in the left panel, move your mouse cursor over the name of calendar you wish to share until the Options menu shortcut (represented by three vertical dots) is displayed and then click it.

It should be obvious which calendar is the account holder's primary calendar. It will usually have the name of the account holder. There should be no other calendars in the list, unless the account holder has created one or more secondary calendars or shared a calendar with someone else.

  1. On the Options menu, click Settings and Sharing.

The entire Settings menu will be displayed.

  1. Scroll down to the heading entitled "Share with specific people" and click Add people.

A list of people in your Google contacts will be displayed in a dropdown list.

  1. Scroll down the list, or use type search, to locate the people with whom you want to be able to share the calendar and then click on a name.

The person you have selected will appear in the Share with specific people field.

Note:  Only people in the Google contacts listing for the account you have logged into will appear in the list.  

  1. Click the arrow in the Permissions field to display the list of sharing permission that are available for the selected person and choose "Make changes to events".  If you want to enable the selected person to be able to change sharing permissions for the calendar, select "Make changes and manage sharing".
  1. When you are done, click the Send button.

The Master Calendar will receive a notification. Note: You If you use multiple Gmail accounts, you must be logged into the Master Calendar Gmail Account before any other Gmail accounts or you can log out of all Gmail Accounts and login to the Master Calendar to Add the Shared Calendars. If you forget and find that when you click on the link to add the new shared Calendar it does not add, this means you are not logged in to the Master Calendar first. Google will simply not add the shared Calendar until you log out of other accounts. The email can be re used so you don't have to re share the calendar. Just click the link again to add it.

Back to Top